Search This Blog

Monday, November 8, 2021

The latest update limits the ways that users can interact with children on TikTok

TikTok continues to promote a safe and positive app experience for its users through another safety update, this time protecting the younger members of its community. The update brings tightened privacy settings for children's accounts, limiting the ways that users can interact with them on the app. This added layer of security for under-16 TikTok accounts serves as a way to safeguard children against online crimes, such as child sexual exploitation, which is a growing problem faced by internet users today. 

 

Below is a quick rundown of the new safety changes to expect from TikTok.


• Users can no longer download videos created by under-16 accounts. Also, these videos can no longer be used as part of the app's Duet and Stitch features, which gives users the ability to clip and integrate scenes from another user's video into their own. 


• Only the friends of users aged 13 to 15 will be able to leave comments on their videos. For accounts held by users aged 16 to 18, only friends will be able to use their videos for Duets and Stitching, by default.


• Hosting live streams on TikTok will be restricted to accounts of users aged 16 and above. 


• TikTok also restricts buying, sending, and receiving of virtual gifts to users aged 18 and up.

 

These new changes aim to supplement the app's existing safety features, which include:


• Family Pairing, which allow parents to link their own TikTok account to their child's, giving them control over their teens' mobile phone habits by turning features on and off remotely.


• Screen Time Management, where users can set limits for the amount of time that they want to spend on the app each day. Parents can use this to restrict their children's daily screen time to 40, 60, 90, or 120 minutes. Once the time limit is reached, users will need to enter a password in order to continue using TikTok. This password-protected feature is valid for 30 days. 


• Restricted Viewing Mode, which limits the appearance of content that may not be appropriate for all audiences. This feature is also activated via password, and is valid for 30 days as well. 

 

The safety of the online community continues to be a top priority for TikTok, so you can rest assured that you and your family remain secure as you use the app. Enjoy a safe and positive TikTok experience today by downloading the app on your iOS and Android devices.

 

 

5 comments:

  1. This is great news , ito tlga ung need lalo na my mga video dn na hndi tlga pwede sa mga bata . Mas mgnda ito para sa safety ng lahat , thanks for sharing ❤️

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is actually a good news for us mom's and being a parent! This is for safety reasons

    ReplyDelete
  3. Nice move from TikTok! This is really what we need right now that we are all in social media especially the younger ones. It’s really a big help for parents to monitor their children’s activities and those who they interact with. Good job 👍🏻

    ReplyDelete
  4. KUDOS Tiktok, and thanks for sharing this Ms.Lou really sobrang laking tulong po nito for every parents here

    ReplyDelete
  5. TikTok continues to promote a safe and positive app experience for its users through another safety update, this time protecting the younger members of its community. kudos to Tiktok for this great initiative to protect the youth.
    This is great news.

    ReplyDelete

A game-changing opportunity for tech-forward professionals with AXA Prime

The pandemic has led businesses and consumers to embrace digital transformation, creating potential opportunities for professionals in the t...